About Us

”AMA Awards Are Presented Annually To Recognize Excellence Of Professionals In The Film Industry. It Was Founded By Peace Anyiam – Osigwe And Runs Through The Africa Film Academy”
AMAA From The Founder

The Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) is a subsidiary of the Africa Film Academy. The Academy, founded on the best film tradition is geared towards research, training and propagating film making in Africa.

AMAA was established in 2005, aimed at facilitating the development and relevance of African film & cinema by providing a reward & recognition platform for film makers on the continent. The Africa Movie Academy Awards, popularly known as AMAA and The AMA Awards is the most prestigious award in Africa, showcasing and rewarding great talents in the film industry. It has since become the most – hungered after – event in African movie world.

AMAA is conceptualized as an annual celebration of the brightest and the best in African movie. It is about class and style, glitz and razzmatazz. The first award of its kind, it is the biggest gathering of movie makers across the African continent. AMAA has evolved from a one-day live televised event to an all-year-round engagement platform for filmmakers, industry professionals and their fans. Today, AMAA is most prestigious and glamorous entertainment industry event of its kind in Africa.


CNN Special Report


    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)


    Your Message